Republic of
South Sudan


National Legislative Assembly

President Salva Kiir Mayardit
Hon. Lt. Gen. James Wani Igga
The National Assembly of the Republic of South Sudan was established through Presidential Decree No. 10/2011 for the Reconstitution of the National Legislative Assembly of the Republic of South Sudan, 2011 issued on 1 August 2011.
It replaced the Southern Sudan Legislative Assembly (SSLA) which came to existence under Article 57 (1) of the Interim Constitution of the Southern Sudan 2005, as provided for in the Comprehensive Peace Agreement (CPA) signed between the Sudan Government and the Sudan People Liberation Movement (SPLM) in Naivasha, Kenya on 9th January 2005.
Following the April 2010 general elections, members of the South Sudan Legislative Assembly (SSLA) were either elected or nominated as per the Constitution. The Presidential Decree establishing the National Legislative Assembly also reconstituted its membership. It is now composed of all the members of the former SSLA, former members of the National Legislative Assembly of the Republic of Sudan elected from constituencies in Southern Sudan, and members appointed under Article 94(2)(b) of the Transitional Constitution of South Sudan.